Blood Water Paint

Blood Water Paint Review

A debut novel based on the true story of the iconic painter, Artemisia Gentileschi.

Her mother died when she was twelve, and suddenly Artemisia Gentileschi had a stark choice: a life as a nun in a convent or a life grinding pigment for her father's paint.

She chose paint.

By the time she was seventeen, Artemisia did more than grind pigment. She was one of Rome's most talented painters, even if no one knew her name. But Rome in 1610 was a city where men took what they wanted from women, and in the aftermath of rape Artemisia faced another terrible choice: a life of silence or a life of truth, no matter the cost.

He will not consume
my every thought.
I am a painter.
I will paint.

I will show you
what a woman can do.

Title:Blood Water Paint
Edition Language:English

    Some Testimonial About This Book:

  • Kai

    "Those men.These women who dareto judgeyour heartby your bodywill never havean ounce of your worth."Okay, okay, hear me out: a feminist young adult historical novel written in verse. About a female pa...

  • destiny ? howling libraries

    Content warnings: sexual assault, misogyny, suicidal thoughts, violence, brief physical torture, victim-blaming, slut-shaming, murder, betrayal. I will show you what a woman can do. When I was given t...

  • Laura

    I wish menwould decideif women are heavenlyangels on high,or earthbound sculpturesfor their gardensBut either way we’re beautyfor consumption. This was really quite powerful and beautiful and devas...

  • Elise (TheBookishActress)

    This is a hard book to decently review. It's a verse novel, first of all. I think it's nigh-impossible to review a verse novel well. And this is not just a verse novel; it is a book that gets its chie...

  • Mackenzi

    I LOVE this book. Official blurb/review to come. ...

  • alice (arctic books)

    Simply put, BLOOD WATER PAINT is a stunning and heartbreaking novel. I finished this in one sitting, partly because it was in free verse so the pages went by incredibly quickly, and partly because the...

  • Dahlia

    That was really incredibly done. It's so beautifully historical but thoroughly modern at the same time, and so skillful at its depiction and articulation of the male gaze vs. the female one. This made...

  • Ana

    “And listen to me love, when a woman risks her place, her very life to speak a truth the world despises? Believe her. Always.”Artemisia Gentileschi was the first woman ever admitted into the Accad...

  • Laura

    brillant, amazing, heartbreaking, empowering. ...

  • Kelly

    Perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys, McCullough's debut verse novel tells the story of Artemisia Gentileschi in the early 1600s. A young painter, apprenticed by her father -- who was, of course, profitin...