Small Admissions
3.74/5 by 1722 users

Small Admissions

by

For fans of The Nanny Diaries and Sophie Kinsella comes a whip-smart and deliciously funny debut novel about Kate, a young woman unexpectedly thrust into the cutthroat world of New York City private school admissions as she attempts to understand city life, human nature, and falling in love.

Despite her innate ambition and Summa Cum Laude smarts, Kate Pearson has turned into a major slacker. After being unceremoniously dumped by her handsome, French “almost fiancé,” she abandons her grad school plans and instead spends her days lolling on the couch, watching reruns of Sex and the City, and leaving her apartment only when a dog-walking gig demands it. Her friends don’t know what to do other than pass tissues and hope for a comeback, while her practical sister, Angela, pushes every remedy she can think of, from trapeze class to therapy to job interviews.

Miraculously, and for reasons no one (least of all Kate) understands, she manages to land a job in the admissions department at the prestigious Hudson Day School. In her new position, Kate learns there’s no time for self-pity or nonsense during the height of the admissions season, or what her colleagues refer to as “the dark time.” As the process revs up, Kate meets smart kids who are unlikable, likeable kids who aren’t very smart, and Park Avenue parents who refuse to take no for an answer.

Meanwhile, Kate’s sister and her closest friends find themselves keeping secrets, hiding boyfriends, dropping bombshells, and fighting each other on how to keep Kate on her feet. On top of it all, her cranky, oddly charming, and irritatingly handsome downstairs neighbor is more than he seems. Through every dishy, page-turning twist, it seems that one person’s happiness leads to another’s misfortune, and suddenly everyone, including Kate, is looking for a way to turn rejection on its head, using any means necessary—including the truly unexpected.

Title:Small Admissions
Edition Language:English
ISBN:1501122525
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:368 pages

    Small Admissions Reviews

  • Chelsea Humphrey
    Jun 13, 2016

    Guilty Pleasure. Those are the two words I’d use to describe this book. I stated in my brief, immediate thoughts after finishing this one how I rarely give Chick Lit 5 stars, but I stand by my opin...

  • Lola  Reviewer
    Nov 14, 2016

    I would not be surprised if this became a best seller. Maybe not #1 of its genre, but it’s interesting and insightful, since it explores multiple subjects. With the use of humour.This is a book part...

  • Larry Hoffer
    Jan 11, 2017

    I'm between 3.5 and 4 stars, so I'll round up.Sometimes after I've read a few fairly heavy or angsty books, I need to metaphorically cleanse my literary palate by reading something a little lighter. I...

  • Sam
    Dec 01, 2016

    Small Admissions is an easy read, by turns occasionally smartly observed and amusing, but also thin, never penetrating far beneath the surface layers of its characters and situations. The novel center...

  • Suzanne Leopold
    Jan 18, 2017

    Kate Pearson quits graduate school to live in Paris with her French boyfriend, Robert. She is blindsided by Robert as he quickly breaks off the relationship and she ends up moving back to New York Cit...

  • Olivia-Savannah Roach
    Jan 09, 2017

    I wasn’t entirely sure what I was going in for when I decided to read and review Small Admissions. But I was pretty pleased and satisfied by the time I finished reading this book. Although it is cen...

  • Jenna
    Jan 07, 2017

    A fun, frothy confection and lightning-fast read, this is ChickLit at its finest. This isn't a book that will likely stick with you for the ages, but neither will you regret the time you've spent with...

  • Toni
    Jan 19, 2017

    If you're in a January slump because of gray skies and rainy weather, or any other reason, get this book in any form. It will brighten your mood, make you laugh out loud, and you'll even shake your he...

  • Aditi
    Feb 14, 2017

    “Cry. Forgive. Learn. Move on. Let your tears water the seeds of your future happiness.” ----Steve MaraboliAmy Poeppel, an American author, has penned a terrific and extremely entertaining debut...

  • Grace {Rebel Mommy Book Blog}
    Dec 07, 2016

    Review This book started off a bit rocky for me. It was in the third person which I am not that big of a fan and it was just flat out a little confusing. I am so glad I stuck with it though because ...