The Perfect Girl
3.71/5 by 11081 users

The Perfect Girl

by

To everyone who knows her now, Zoe Maisey - child genius, musical sensation - is perfect. Yet several years ago, Zoe caused the death of three teenagers. She served her time. And now she's free.

Her story begins with her giving the performance of her life.

By midnight, her mother is dead.

The Perfect Girl is an intricate exploration into the mind of a teenager burdened by brilliance. It's a story about the wrongs in our past not letting go and how hard we must fight for second chances.

Title:The Perfect Girl
Edition Language:English
ISBN:0349406405
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:448 pages

    The Perfect Girl Reviews

  • Shelby *trains flying monkeys*
    May 04, 2016

    But the problem is, a high IQ doesn't necessarily mean that you're clever enough to avoid being a massive teenage cliché. Which is what I was, or what I became. Before my descent into 'teen tragedy,'...

  • Linda
    Oct 31, 2016

    A Tale of Two Cities.......Perhaps it's me. I am torn by this dichotomy that has been presented. I read What She Knew by this talented author. It was filled with pure compassion, deeply carved charact...

  • Taryn
    Mar 19, 2016

    Zoe Guerin is a musical prodigy with a genius IQ. Her dreams of success were shattered the night she was involved in a tragic accident that resulted in the death of three classmates. Zoe was convicted...

  • Brenda
    Oct 08, 2016

    I found this book compelling. I needed to know what Zoe, a 14 year old musical prodigy, had done. What mistake had she made that completely changed her life and who she was. How did she get a "Second ...

  • Julie
    Oct 19, 2016

    The Perfect Girl by Gilly Macmillan is a 2016 Little, Brown Book Group publication. After having read ‘What she Knew”, I have been on the lookout for more books by Gilly Macmillan. This one popped...

  • Robin
    Jun 14, 2016

    2.5 starsA good thriller is tough to find.This one centres around Zoe, a teenage piano prodigy, a victim of bullying at her expensive private school - and also a convicted killer. We are told early on...

  • Brenda
    Nov 27, 2015

    Zoe and Lucas were almost ready – the first performance for Zoe since the accident – and her first performance with her step-brother by her side. The nerves were vibrating in them both, both in di...

  • Dale Harcombe
    Nov 27, 2015

    Four a half stars.After reading her earlier book Burnt Paper Sky, I was thrilled to bits to win an ARC from The Reading Room and the publisher. Originally titled Butterfly in the Dark it has undergone...

  • Michael
    Feb 17, 2016

    It is fair to say that this an "it" book. You only have to look at the front cover to see the dreaded (for me at least) line, "for anyone who loved The Girl on the Train, It's a must-read". While this...

  • Joanne Harris
    Aug 22, 2016

    This book, kindly sent to me by the publisher, is heavily marketed to those readers who enjoyed THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and GONE GIRL. Full disclosure: I didn't much like either of those, and so it's no...

About Gilly Macmillan

Gilly Macmillan

Gilly Macmillan is the internationally bestselling author of WHAT SHE KNEW (previously published as BURNT PAPER SKY in some territories), THE PERFECT GIRL and ODD CHILD OUT, which will be available October 2017. Gilly is Edgar Award nominated and an ITW award finalist. Her books have been translated into over 20 languages.She grew up in Swindon, Wiltshire and also lived in Northern California in h